Land Elite Status with New LATAM Pass Requirements

Advertiser Disclosure Editorial Disclosure

Last updated on August 12th, 2021

Beginning Apr. 1, 2020, adjustments to the LATAM Pass requirements will make it easier to achieve Elite Status. LATAM Airlines last tweaked the program in 2018, which made status harder to land. Now, frequent flyers with the airline have an additional opportunity to climb the ranks for flight perks. LATAM will also reduce the amount of qualification points needed overall, and add an additional status level to the program as well. 

How is LATAM Elite Status Calculated?

If you’re a LATAM frequent flyer, you now have 2 ways to turn your flights into upgrades. The first option requires you to accumulate qualification points, which you earn based on ticket price and a destination multiplier. After the changes made in 2018, this was the only way to earn elite status, and more points were required to do so. Under the new adjustments, you can also climb the LATAM Pass ranks using segments per trip.  

Qualification Points

For international flights between the U.S. and qualifying South American countries, you’ll earn 6 points per dollar. That means an international flight worth $1,000 would be worth 6,000 points. Meanwhile, domestic flights taken between South American countries may have different point allotments. This reduction in required qualification points makes it even easier to reach elite – especially when you pay with aairline rewards credit card LATAM currently offers three with various reward opportunities. The LATAM Visa Signature® Card, for example, earns 2X points on flights with the airline. Throw in the current 20,000 signup bonus and you’re already more than qualified for the Gold tier. As with other cobranded airlines cards, it also brings exclusive LATAM discounts, bonus points, and flight upgrades. 

Segments Per Trip

Segments per trip refers to each flight you take on a single LATAM-marketed airplane. In other words, connecting flights in which you change planes can count as separate segments. With this option, you can earn status just by being a frequent flyer with LATAM Airlines, regardless of ticket cost. However, there are certain situations that can impact the segments you earn: 

  • Basic and Promo fares do not qualify 
  • When you fly Premium Economy or Business, you earn 2X segments 
  • Only LATAM and LATAM-marketed flights qualify 
  • Connecting flights in which you stay on the same plane earn 1 segment  

New LATAM Pass Status Level

All 2020 flights will go toward these new requirements, including those taken prior to Apr. 1. Beyond these new program terms, LATAM Airlines has also created a new status level. The LATAM Elite Gold Plus tier sits a little more than halfway between Gold and Platinum. It brings the same benefits as the Gold, but also includes priority boarding and the ability to move or delay certain flights within the same day without fines.  The new requirements for each status level are outlined as follows: 

  • Gold: 15,000 Points / 20 Segments
  • Gold Plus: 30,000 Points / 35 Segments
  • Platinum: 40,000 Points / 45 Segments
  • Black: 75,000 Points / 75 Segments
  • Black Signature: 160,000 Points / 120 Segments

About: Leesa
Leesa Love

Leesa is a credit card explorer for While not spelunking for APRs and hidden fees, she's most likely listening to a podcast or working on a superfluous DIY project.

Advertiser Disclosure

BestCards is an independent, Florida-based credit card comparison platform. Many of the card offers that appear on this site are from companies from which BestCards receives compensation. This compensation may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). BestCards does not include all card companies or all card offers available in the marketplace.

Get the Best Credit Card Content in Your Inbox

Sign up for our newsletter to receive the latest credit card articles and news so you can stay on top of your financial wellbeing.